September 16, 2020

20 Mid-Michigan Students Named 2021 National Merit Semifinalists

Last week, officials from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Twenty students from Eaton and Ingham County High Schools made the list. Congratulations to these students on this accomplishment.

2021 National Merit semifinalists from the Lansing region include:

Dansville High School
Elizabeth R. Troia

East Lansing High School
Eliza N. Lane

Grand Ledge High School
Cooper J. Evans

Leslie High School
Chase S. Lewis

Okemos High School
Abigail V. Bartley

Riddhi Bhattacharya

Baran Demir

Jayden D. Elliott

Ravdeep S. Grewal

Fergal B. Hennessy

Eric J. Huang

Taerin Kim

Joonbum Lee

Sophia Lee

Maxim Q. Li

Sophia Y. Liu

Ian R. Loree

Rayan Mughal

Brighty Renli

Williamston High School
Ethan Egger

All semifinalists are eligible to compete for 7,600 National Merit Scholarship awards worth more than $30 million, to be awarded in spring 2021. More than 1.5 million juniors entered the 2021 National Merit program by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which serves as the initial screen of program entrants. Three types of Merit Scholarship awards will be offered in 2021: National Merit $2,500 scholarships, corporate-sponsored scholarships, and college-sponsored scholarships. Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in spring 2021.